A conviction for a traffic violation may not seem like a serious matter, but the Commonwealth of Virginia has some of the toughest traffic laws in the nation. Traffic infractions that could result in just a ticket in other jurisdictions may be considered criminal violations in Virginia. If you are convicted of reckless or aggressive driving, you could face fines, loss of license and even jail time in addition to demerit points on your driving record and increased insurance rates. At Geno Law Firm, P.C., I provide detailed advice on the potential consequences of having a conviction for traffic offenses on your record. I will devise a defense strategy aimed at mitigating those consequences and fight for the best possible outcome in the courtroom. Whether you are charged with a serious traffic offense such as a hit-and-run accident or a lesser violation such as running a red light or stop sign, I will fight to protect your driving record by seeking reduced or dismissed charges.
In Virginia, reckless driving is more than just a minor traffic infraction; it’s a criminal offense — a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, you could face up to one year in jail, a $2,500 fine and suspension of your license. All Virginia drivers should be aware that these actions could lead to a reckless driving charge:
At Geno Law, I know Virginia’s traffic laws and can devise the best strategy for your defense given the circumstances, whether that’s challenging the evidence against you or the reasons why you were charged. A strong defense can help sway the judge to reduce a misdemeanor reckless driving charge to a noncriminal traffic infraction.
Like reckless driving, aggressive driving is considered a criminal offense in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Under Virginia law, aggressive driving involves the commission of one or more of 12 specific traffic offenses, including such things as speeding and unsafe lane changes, along with an intent to harass, intimidate, injure or obstruct another person. Aggressive driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor and punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. If you are accused of intending to injure someone, the potential penalties are even more severe. As a knowledgeable traffic defense attorney, I’m able to determine the best course of action to minimize the penalties you face. I can challenge the ticketing officer’s subjective determination that you had a bad intent and uncover mistakes in procedure that warrant dismissal of your case. I will work strategically and aggressively to obtain the best possible outcome.
Before paying a fine for a traffic violation or admitting guilt at a hearing, consider speaking to a knowledgeable traffic defense attorney about the consequences. At Geno Law Firm, P.C., I provide a free initial consultation at my Fairfax office so you have nothing to lose by talking to me first. Call me at 703-691-4366 or contact me online to make an appointment.